Contact us



To recognize the exceptional work being conducted by our colleagues around the state, WAMATYC honours selected faculty with a Washington Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges Teaching Award in the following categories:

  • Teaching Excellence Award - For excellence and/or innovation in teaching with influence beyond their institution. (Awarded annually.)
  • Service Award - To recognize a significant contribution outside the classroom that advances mathematics or mathematics education. (Awarded biannually in odd years.)
  • Education Reform Award - For innovation in mathematics course design or curriculum development at the precollege or college level with results supported by evidence. (Awarded biannually in even years.)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award - To recognize a career of service to mathematics and mathematics education. For faculty with at least 15 years of experience teaching community college level mathematics. (A special award given when deserved faculty are presented for nomination.)

Eligibility & Nominations

Eligible candidates must be community or technical college mathematics faculty, including adjunct faculty, in Washington State during the academic year of nomination. Current members of WAMATYC's Executive Board are not eligible and no person may win the same award twice.

A call for nominations will be made mid-winter term. The nomination process is to write a 1-2 page letter addressing why the candidate should receive the award. A panel of judges chaired by the current WAMATYC President will make the final award decisions.


Award presentations typically take place at the Friday night dinner at the Washington College Mathematics Conference held each spring.


2018 Winners
Teaching Excellence - Jody DeWilde (Whatcom CC)
Education Reform - John Toutonghi (South Seattle College)

2017 Winners
Service - Christopher Quarles (Everett CC)
Lifetime Achievement - Kialynn Glubrecht (Spokane Falls CC)
Lifetime Achievement - Stephen Lane (Big Bend CC)

2016 Winners
Education Reform - Steve Kinholt (Green River CC)
Lifetime Achievement - Alan Walton (Highline College)
Lifetime Achievement - Doug Mooers (Whatcom CC)

2015 Winners
Teaching Excellence – Barbara Harras (Spokane Falls CC)
Service – Terry Meerdink (Highline College)
Lifetime Achievement – Laura Moore-Mueller (Green River College)

2014 Winners
Teaching Excellence - Andrea Cahan (Everett CC)
Service - David Lippman (Pierce College)
Education Reform - Helen Burn (Highline College)
Lifetime Achievement - Dale Hoffman (Bellevue College)

Note: To celebrate our Washington State Mathematics Faculty members these awards were initiated by Everett Community College faculty in spring 2014. WAMATYC took over their administration in spring 2015.

Copyright © 1997-2018 Sally J. Keely. All Rights Reserved. |