## **Minutes - Spring 1999 Meeting**

The WAMATYC meeting was held at 4 pm on April 16, 1999, at the 31th annual Washington State Community College Mathematics Conference at the Shilo Inn at Ocean Shores, Washington. Present at the meeting were Peter Alexander (Heritage C), Marilyn Anderson (Bellevue CC), Linda Ernst (Yakima Valley CC), Eve Grimshaw (Skagit Valley CC), Zoe Ann Grimshaw (Skagit Valley CC), Karen Halsebosch (Olympic C), Helen Hancock (Shoreline CC), Dale Hoffman (Bellevue CC), Sally Keely (Clark C), Vicky Ringen (North Seattle CC), Lenore Vest (Lower Columbia C), Marjie Vittum-Jones (South Seattle CC), and Emily Woods (Peninsula C).

The meeting was opened by our president, Dale Hoffman. A reminder was given that WAMATYC does not sponsor this Washington Math Conference. Mention was made that Sally Keely was recognized for the work she does for WAMATYC. Olga Ross, our Regional Vice President, was thanked for providing the refreshments for the meeting.

The minutes from April 17, 1998, were approved as written and the Treasurer's Report was given. A reminder that the dues is \$5 per year and this gives you a voice in WAMATYC. The membership dues for AMATYC are \$50 per year. It is not necessary to join AMATYC to be in WAMATYC. Helen Hancock, Membership Chairperson, pointed out that dues were paid from April to April. One of the benefits of our dues is to help sponsor the Washington State Math Directory. Marjie Vittum-Jones asked for suggestions to improve the Directory. Suggestions were to include email access, outcomes and course prerequisites.

Sally Keely, Editor of the newsletter and WAMATYC Webmaster, discussed the need for information. The newsletter is only on-line now and it is a brief newsletter. The newsletter is attached to the national groups and the role we play is in connections.

Next year's conference will be hosted by Bellevue Community College. They will try to arrange to have the WAMATYC meeting at the Friday breakfast in a nearby room or corner of the breakfast room itself.

Dale reminded us of the Fall AMATYC conference in Pittsburgh on November 18-21, 1999. Lenora Vest, Marjie Vittum-Jones and Dale Hoffman plan to attend. Larry Runyon received the 1998 Teaching Excellence Award from AMATYC. However, no 1999 Teaching Excellence Award winner will come from our region, as three recommendations were not submitted. To have an award presented, there must be at least three recommended individuals. Let's not have this embarrassment repeated. The awards are presented in alternate years. The Teaching Excellence Awards is given in the odd-numbered years, while the Mathematics Excellence Awards are given during

the even-numbered years. Contact Sally Keely at <u>skeely@clark.edu</u> or Dale Hoffman at <u>dhoffman@bcc.ctc.edu</u> if you wish to recommend someone. Perhaps we could keep the recommendations of the not chosen individuals to be resubmitted the next time.

In the past we have given \$50 to the Washington college scoring highest in the Math League. It was moved and seconded that the gift be continued to this year's top scoring Washington college. The motion passed unanimously. David Nelson will announce the winner at this evening's banquet. Tacoma Community College won in our state last year.

The floor was open for discussion on anything anyone wished to bring up.

Peter Alexander suggested a discussion on the topic "What is college-level math?". Right now the definition is simply that any course over the 100 level and which transfers is considered college-level mathematics. Peter suggested this was a philosophical discussion and has a long-term interest in this topic. Could it be a topic for the next conference?

Zoe Ann Grimshaw suggested putting this topic and other options on line at the website. She suggested another question: "What do you think about Washington Online University?" Sally said our most effective way to reach faculty was through the department representatives and, of course, directly to the membership.

Emily Woods was nominated for President Elect. It was seconded and unanimously approved. The meeting was then closed.

Submitted by Marjie Vittum-Jones Secretary/Treasurer