## History of The Washington College Mathematics Conference

The first Washington College Mathematics Conference (WCMC) was held in 1969. Organized by Phil Heft, Larry Larson, Jim Relf, and John Van Druff, it was held at "The Lodge" in Ashford at Mt. Rainier where accommodations required sleeping bags. Thirty-three persons attended, including such notables as Professors Kingston and Hashisaki, at a cost of \$16.68 per person.

In the years since its inception, WCMC has grown to over 200 attendees and over 30 speakers. The conference is hosted in a unique collaborative way. Mathematics departments from Washington's community and technical college system take turns hosting the conference. Responsibility for conference planning is passed from college to college each year with no rule for who hosts when nor where the meetings are held. A traveling fund with start-up costs and a large box of helpful hints and documents gets handed to the next host institution at the conclusion of each year's meeting.

WAMATYC, which did not form until 1986, does not (unlike many other state affiliates of AMATYC) run the conference. However, WAMATYC does support the conference by sponsoring invited speakers and special activities. WAMATYC holds its annual business meeting during the conference and presents awards to outstanding faculty at the Friday evening banquet.

Year	Host	Location	Website
1969	Green River, Highline, & Fort Steilacoom	The Lodge, Mt. Rainier	
1970	Spokane Falls	The Lodge, Mt. Rainier	
1971	Everett	Snoqualmie Pass	
1972	Everett	Snoqualmie Pass	
1973	Seattle Central	Snoqualmie Pass	
1974	Green River	Lake Wilderness	
1975	Highline	Providence Hts, Issaquah	
1976	Bellevue	Snoqualmie Pass	
1977	Shoreline	Providence Hts, Issaquah	
1978	Edmonds	Providence Hts, Issaquah	
1979	Olympic	Port Ludlow	
1980	Spokane Falls	Sun Mountain, Winthrop	

Last Revision: 2018-03-19, by Sally Keely

1981	Spokane Falls	Sun Mountain, Winthrop	
1982	Highline	Lake Chelan	
1983	Olympic	Port Ludlow	
1984	Green River	Alderbrook, Union	
1985	Shoreline	Sun Mountain, Winthrop	
1986	North Seattle WAMATYC forms	Alderbrook, Union	
1987	Lower Columbia	Alderbrook, Union	
1988	Olympic	Port Ludlow	
1989	Bellevue	Lake Chelan	
1990	Clark	Alderbrook, Union	
1991	Pierce & Tacoma	Lake Chelan	
1992	Yakima Valley	Yakima	
1993	Highline 25 <sup>th</sup> Annual Conference	Wenatchee	
1994	South Seattle	Silverdale	
1995	Skagit Valley & Whatcom	Wenatchee	
1996	Spokane Falls & ORMATYC	Skamania Lodge, Stevenson	
1997	Green River CC	Lake Chelan	
1998	Tacoma & Big Bend	Lake Chelan	
1999	Edmonds	Ocean Shores	
2000	Bellevue	Wenatchee	
2001	Peninsula & ORMATYC	Skamania Lodge, Stevenson	
2002	Clark	Yakima	

Last Revision: 2018-03-19, by Sally Keely

2003	Spokane & N. Idaho	Wenatchee	
2004	Pierce	Yakima	
2005	Highline	Ocean Shores	
2006	Olympic & ORMATYC	Skamania Lodge, Stevenson	
2007	Wenatchee Valley	Wenatchee	
2008	North Seattle	Lake Chelan	
2009	Columbia Basin	Pasco	
2010	Yakima Valley	Yakima	
2011	Green River & ORMATYC 25 <sup>th</sup> anniv. WAMATYC	<u>Skamania Lodge</u> Stevenson	ormatyc.org
2012	Tacoma	Wenatchee Coast Hotel	mathconference2012
2013	Whatcom	Firs Conf. Center, Bellingham	wsccmc.wordpress.com
2014	Everett & Shoreline	Wenatchee Coast Hotel	everettcc.edu/mathconference
2015	Bellevue	<u>Campbell's Resort</u> Lake Chelan	wamathconf.org
2016	Clark & ORMATYC	Salishan Resort Gleneden Beach, Oregon Coast	ormatyc.org
2017	Highline	Great Wolf Lodge Grand Mound	wamatyc2017.highline.edu
2018	Edmonds 50 <sup>th</sup> Annual Conference	Yakima Convention Center	wamath.org
2019	Centralia & Bates Technical	Ocean Shores	May 2-4, 2019
2020	Pierce	Lake Chelan	April 30 – May 2, 2020
2021	Clark & ORMATYC		

Last Revision: 2018-03-19, by Sally Keely

2022	
2023	
2024	
2025	
2026	
2027	
2028	
2029	
2030	
2031	
2032	
2033	
2034	
2035	
2036	50 <sup>th</sup> anniv. WAMATYC